Now that Term 4 has started (here in QLD anyway, I know some states are still on holidays and some countries have only just started back at school not that long ago), I thought it may be a good opportunity to share lunchbox ideas. These are my personal lunchboxes I have made for my kids and ideas / recipes I have found to be popular choices.


Last year a friend had a “party” with Neat2Eat, it was what I wanted for my daughter who started Prep this year so enter the Bento Box (above). It’s mostly great, I just need to be very mindful of the size of things I bake/buy to go in there. Cutters are fantastic for this.


This lunch box is my son’s. It’s bigger spaces and a Tupperware one that I recently found hiding in the draws while I was decluttering. No idea where it come from or when I got it, I have a feeling it was probably in one of those “Spend over $75 and get this mystery pack worth over $100 for $25” deal type thing. I’m a sucker for those. But now I’ve re-discovered it – I LOVE it. It’s a really good size.
I mix it up and the kids often have different things in their lunch boxes. We are VERY fortunate not to have any restrictions at school, so please be mindful of your own school’s rules when preparing lunch boxes.

Recipes for some items I’ve included:

  • 100 Cookie Recipe – I generally divide the mixture into 4, freeze 3 portions and do the baking once a week making a variety of each.
  • Cupcakes – Usually I just do a basic recipe into mini cupcakes and ice. This recipe makes quite a lot of the mini ones so I usually freeze half (un-iced). Sometimes I bake blueberry, banana or choc chip but I don’t ice these.
  • Chocolate Balls – This is a treat and don’t usually add these unless we’ve had a party or a morning tea recently, then the kids get any leftovers (if there are any)

Sandwich fillings that my kids love:

  • Ham, Cheese & Mango Chutney (nan’s homemade stuff)
  • Ham, Cucumber and Philly Cream Cheese
  • Peanut Butter & Jam
  • Vegemite or Promite with or without cheese
  • Lettuce, Cucumber, Cheese & Ham. (No tomato, it will be soggy mum!)

Sometimes Miss S will have a salad, she loves wraps with ham, cheese & salami. I also make sushi with leftover rice and chicken, carrot & cucumber thinly sliced (her fave).

And of course, not to forget the regular inclusions (that always changes, they aren’t there every day or even every week, but these are fairly regular):

  • Cucumber
  • Carrots
  • Seasonal Fruit
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Cheese
  • Twiggy Sticks
  • Yoghurt or Custard
  • Boiled Eggs
  • Sometimes I will also add Cheerio’s (Frankfurters) or ham rolled up (they think it’s a huge treat to have rolled up ham, not sure why haha)
  • And yes, i do sometimes add Shapes/Savory Biscuits and/or sweet biscuits like tiny teddies.

This is what my kids eat and love. It changes every week. It’s certainly not as fancy as some of the bento boxes I have seen (seriously, you look up Pinterest and you certainly see some photo worthy lunch boxes that must have taken ages!!!) These lunch boxes generally take me about 5-10 minutes and make them in the morning while I’m sipping my (usually second) coffee.

Enjoy – Christine xx

One thought on “Lunch Box Ideas

Leave a Reply

