These last few weeks have been mentally exhausting. When did I start seeing being busy as a competition? That’s not right. I don’t WANT to be more busy then the next person. In fact, I want the exact opposite. I want to be less busy, less stressed and more living in the moment. Have you ever had a conversation with someone who says oh I have this and this and this to do today, you roll your eyes and say I know what you mean, I have to do this and this and this and this AND THIS! It’s not a competition – YOU DON’T WIN!!!!!

Lately here has been my thought process: No, I don’t have time to read that book, Can’t play, I need to check this email. I’m sorry honey, I just can’t help with that right now. I’m on my phone, checking emails, and while I turned off notifications, I still have this desire to constantly unlock my phone and check what I may be missing. Not only am I trying to complete my TAFE certificate, I have a large sewing (clothes) order to finish, I have a shop that I need to restock with clothing items, I feel bad because I can’t help as often with reading groups in the classroom, I have markets coming up at the end of this month, and I’m a member of one committee and President of another, I have 2 kids, a husband and my house is still hard to keep on top of. I’m having trouble prioritising!!!!!

A few weeks ago, I was running out the door to yet another committee meeting, cranky because my husband wasn’t home earlier, the kids wouldn’t come inside and have a shower and I had just finished cooking dinner that I was taking with me to eat at the meeting. On the way there, I had a realisation – what in the world am I doing? I can’t do this anymore! That night, I promptly sent an email with my resignation to this committee as of the last meeting of the year (November). I knew I had to give them notice to replace me, I knew I had worked SO hard to help them get where they are this year, but I’ve had to attend a LOT of meetings, it wasn’t a suitable night for our family, something had to give so this was #1 on my list. And you know what I felt once that letter was sent? Relief. One less thing will be on my plate shortly – what’s next?

What do I want to keep in my life? Well, obviously family is Number ONE on this list. I need to create more time for and with them. I’m happy with my exercise and dieting because I need to look after me as well, so commitment to time for this stays. P&C President – this is one I will keep as long as possible as I really do love the school and get great satisfaction with what I do – it’s my one way of giving back to the community, so this too stays. And finally, my TAFE Certificate – this is a temporary one and I really owe it to myself to finish this to enable myself to get the job that I really want when Mr L starts school 5 days a week (so I do have a bit of time up my sleeves for this).

So this got me thinking, what else do I need to change in my life to make more time for what I not only need to allocate more time to, but also love and get great value and joy from. And this process has bought me around to my little sewing hobby/business. While I love it, I’m often overwhelmed from saying yes. This is entirely my fault. I do love it, but I do get a bit sidetracked with anything and everything else I possibly can. I think this is subconciously intentional. I think it’s my brains way of telling me it’s checked out. I no longer get the joy and value I once did from it. What do I do? What do I do?

Answer: I don’t know.

It’s hard to consider giving up this hobby that I have worked at for over 5 years, and I don’t want to give it up entirely. I need to get out of the drudgery. If I no longer enjoy it, it just feels like urghhh work *rolls eyes*. So after clearing my head and contemplating this on my walks this week (seriously, if you need to get clarity on something, go for a walk, listen to music or a podcast and the fresh air really does do you good and help you think!) I’ve decided this too must go, to some extent anyway.

 

I need to make a plan…….

12347756_10208227888314616_3631612975528578031_n

Christine xx

7 thoughts on “Busy? Busy! Part 1.

  1. You’ve so made the right decision. I know how hard it is to step down from things! You’re priorities and preferences do change over time. If you sewing isn’t doing it for you anymore, it may be that it’s time has passed for now. Be grateful for the what you got out of it at the time, but it doesn’t have to last forever (way easier said than done!)
    I hate the was busyness has become some proxy for success in our culture. As you know, I disagree. I think you are brave and wise for saying enough is enough. I look forward to hearing more about how you get on with this change.
    In case anyone is interested in reading more on this topic, I’ve shared my thoughts here – https://moretimethanmoney.co.nz/2016/02/17/busy-is-the-new-fine-why-i-am-fighting-back/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that article. And it’s true – busy should NOT be the new fine. I’ve made a plan and I can’t wait to start making these changes 🙂 why wait until the New Year to make resolutions?!?

      Like

  2. I recommend you watch Bad Moms. It’s a great new perspective and a funny movie and questions why the hell we do soooooo many things 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

