Thursday was my little man’s 4th Birthday. This time has just flown by, but one thing I do love doing every year is making my kids birthday cakes.

First is the cupcakes from Pre-Prep Wednesday. Spiderman was the request, looking back, I’m so glad that I didn’t go down this track. His main birthday cake was Spiderman and it took a LONG time.

I used my go-to cake recipe for all my vanilla cakes from the Women’s Weekly Children’s Birthday Cake Book. I have the revised anniversary edition and it’s in a very loved condition hehe so I had to take a photo from google, but I remember my mum baking me cakes from this exact book. It’s full of memories and hope to pass those memories onto my own children! the-australian-women-s-weekly-children-s-birthday-cake-book.jpg

But, if you aren’t a make-from-scratch kinda person, then I have also used the 75c packets of Butter Cake mix from Coles or Woolworths, and these work perfectly fine (I also usually put in an extra 2-3 tablespoons of Self-Raising Flour just to bulk it out and be the consistency I prefer). Now, back to the decorating.

I use the Wilton Colour Gel as it gets an amazing colouring that I just can’t achieve with the Queens Colouring in those bottles (you all know what I’m talking about). For the cupcakes I’ve used Royal Blue for one batch and Leaf Green for the second, for the icing i used Christmas Red & Royal Blue. I decided against Spiderman as I had run out of time, so using my Wilton 2D piping tip I piped from the outside in going upwards as I went (Similar to a soft serve ice cream cone but nowhere near as tall). These went down well with the kids. Cupcakes.jpg

Tomorrow I will do an in-depth post on my Spiderman cake in step-by-step form.

Christine xx

PS: The photo’s in my feature image are all cupcakes I’ve done over the last few years. I’ll be slowly adding tutorials as to how I’ve created these effects over time.

 

4 thoughts on “Cupcake Decorating #1

    1. Haha check back tomorrow – I have a complete step-by-step for a Spider-Man cake post scheduled. I love decorating cakes and it’s certainly improved over the years. You should have seen my #1 and #2 cakes I done for my little miss. No crumb coats, icing sagging between the joints. Utter failure, but certainly have improved since then thank gosh!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

